ThunderPlus, a Hyderabad-based EV charging company, has installed a public EV charging station at AIG Hospital in Gachibowli, Hyderabad. The site has a 60 kW DC fast charger and a 7.4 kW AC charger. According to the company, it is open to doctors, nurses, hospital staff, visitors and the general public, and it describes the station as Hyderabad's first public EV charging facility inside a hospital campus. We could not independently verify that "first" claim. ThunderPlus has not yet shared tariffs, connector details, operating hours or a go-live date. Reports on the installation appeared around 10 October 2026.

What ThunderPlus has installed at AIG Hospital

The charging station sits on the campus of AIG Hospital in Gachibowli, one of Hyderabad's busiest medical and IT corridors. ThunderPlus Director Raj Kumar Medimi said hospitals are among the most frequently visited places in a city, with doctors, medical staff, patients and visitors spending long stretches on campus. The company's pitch is simple: put chargers where people already wait or work, so charging fits into the visit rather than adding a separate trip.

DetailWhat has been reported
OperatorThunderPlus
LocationAIG Hospital, Gachibowli, Hyderabad
DC fast charger60 kW
AC charger7.4 kW
AccessDoctors, nurses, hospital staff, visitors, general public
Company claimHyderabad's first public EV charging facility within a hospital campus
Tariff, connectors, hoursNot disclosed

Also Read: Mahindra Charge_iN Hits 50 Stations, First HPCL-Linked Site Goes Live on the Mumbai-Pune Expressway

Who can use the station

ThunderPlus says the facility is not limited to hospital users. Staff and visitors are the obvious audience, but the company states that members of the public can also charge there. That matters for EV owners in the Gachibowli and Financial District area, because it adds one more public option in a part of the city with heavy daily traffic.

The station is part of ThunderPlus's wider plan to place chargers at everyday-use locations, including places such as hospitals, workplaces, retail spaces and highways.

What is confirmed and what is still missing

We are keeping this report to what ThunderPlus has actually stated. Here is where things stand.

ItemStatus
60 kW DC fast charger and 7.4 kW AC chargerConfirmed by the company
Open to staff, visitors and the publicConfirmed by the company
"Hyderabad's first" hospital-campus public chargerCompany-stated, not independently verified
Number of charging connectorsNot disclosed
Connector standards (CCS2, Type 2, others)Not disclosed
Tariff per kWhNot disclosed
Operating hours and 24x7 accessNot disclosed
Whether an app is needed to start a sessionNot disclosed
Exact go-live dateNot disclosed

If you plan to rely on this charger, confirm the connector type and access method with ThunderPlus or on its app before you drive over.

ThunderPlus's other Hyderabad charging sites

The AIG Hospital station follows a run of Hyderabad launches by the same operator. Based on reports, here is how the AIG Hospital site compares with its recent city sites.

SiteReported powerReported timing
AIG Hospital, Gachibowli60 kW DC, 7.4 kW ACReported October 2026
Prasads IMAX Mall120 kW fast chargerReported 29 September 2026
Bachupally (franchise)60 kW fast chargerReported February 2026
GMR Filling Station, Patancheru (franchise)60 kW DCReported January 2026
Necklace Road (with South Central Railway)120 kW ultra-fast bays, scalableEarlier launch
Sainikpuri Head Post OfficeNot specifiedInaugurated 10 September 2024

The pattern is clear. ThunderPlus is spreading chargers across malls, railway premises, post offices, fuel stations and now a hospital, with a mix of company-run and franchise sites.

Also Read: Mahindra Charge_iN and HPCL Partner to Expand Ultra-Fast EV Charging Ecosystem

Evfy's Take: what a hospital charger means in real hours

Most public charging stories focus on speed. A hospital site is really about time spent on campus. Here is our own rough arithmetic, so you can judge the value for yourself. These are Evfy calculations, not ThunderPlus figures.

  • 7.4 kW AC over a 2-hour visit: up to about 14.8 kWh added at best. Many cars and scooters cannot accept the full 7.4 kW, so real numbers are often lower.
  • 60 kW DC over a 45-minute stop: up to about 45 kWh at a constant 60 kW. In practice, most EVs draw less than the charger's maximum and slow down as the battery fills, so treat this as a ceiling.

What this means in practice:

  • A 7.4 kW AC unit suits long stays, such as a staff shift or a hospital visit that runs for hours.
  • A 60 kW DC unit suits short, quick top-ups, for example a 30 to 45 minute errand.
  • Hospital stays are unpredictable. If you are visiting someone, do not plan around charging time. Treat the charger as a bonus, not a schedule.

The part we will be watching is availability. A charger on a busy hospital campus can get blocked by staff cars parked for a full shift. How ThunderPlus handles that, through time limits or idle fees, is not yet known.

Should you plan a charge stop here?

Pros

  • Public access, so you do not need a hospital connection to use it
  • Both fast DC and slower AC options on one site
  • Useful for staff and long-stay visitors who can charge while on campus

Cons

  • No tariff, hours or connector details disclosed yet
  • A hospital campus is not a place where you can control how long you will stay
  • Possible crowding if staff vehicles occupy the bays

Our suggestion: if you live or work around Gachibowli, note the station but verify details before relying on it. If you are on a tight schedule, keep a backup charger on your route.